Posteado por: ignaciopeman | octubre 13, 2014

A War film

A War Film/ Teresa Hooley

I saw,
With a catch of breath and the heart’s uplifting,
Sorrow and pride,
The ‘week’s great draw’-
The Mon Retreat;
The ‘Old Contemptibles’ who fought, and died,
The horror, the anguish and the glory.
 
As in a dream,
Still hearing machine-guns rattle and shells scream,
I came out into the street.

 

When the day was done,
My little son
Wondered at bath-time why I kissed him som
Naked upon my knee
How could he know
The sudden terror that assaulted me?….
The body I had borne
Nine moons beneath my heart,
A part of me…..
If, someday
It should be taken away
To War. Tortured, Torn.
Slain.
Rotting in o Man’s Land, out in the rain –
My little son….

 

How should he know
Why I kissed and kissed and kissed him, crooning his name?
He though that I was daft.
He thought it was a game,
And laughed and laughed
 
—————————————————————————————————
 
A War Film/Tereas Hooley
Traducción I. Pemán

 

Vi,
Con un golpe de aliento y el corazón conmovido,
El dolor y el orgullo,
La gran atracción de la semana
“The Retreat Mon”;
 Los viejos despreciables que lucharon y murieron,
El horror, la angustia y la gloria.
 
Como en un sueño,
Todavía oyendo el tintineo de las ametralladoras y los aullidos de los  proyectiles,
Salí a la calle.
 
Al finalizar el día,
Mi  dulce niño
Se preguntó a la hora del baño porqué le besé
Desnudo sobre mi rodilla
¿Cómo podía saber
El terror repentino que me asaltó? ….
El cuerpo que había dado a luz
Nueve lunas bajo de mi corazón,
Una parte de mí … ..
Si, algún día
Fuera  obligado a ir
A la Guerra. Torturado, Desgarrado.
Asesinado.
Podrido bajo la Tierra  de nadie, bajo la lluvia –
Mi pequeño….
 
¿Cómo podría haber sabido   
Por qué le besaba, le  besaba y le besaba,
cantando su nombre?
Pensaría que yo era tonta.
Pensaría que era un juego,
Y  reía y reía.
Responder

Categorías

