Posteado por: ignaciopeman | enero 29, 2016

Woodbine willie.

Woodbine willie. By Studdert Kennedy

They gave me this name like their nature,
Compacted of laughter and tears,
A sweet that was born of the bitter,
A joke that was torn from the years

Of their travail and torture, Christ’s fools,
Atoning my sins with their blood,
Who grinned in their agony sharing
The glorious madness of God.

Their name! Let me hear it — the symbol
Of unpaid — unpayable debt,
For the men to whom I owed God’s Peace,
I put off with a cigarette.

———————————————————————–

Woodbine willie. Trad. Ignacio Pemán
Me dieron este nombre tal como eran,
Lleno de risa y lágrimas,
Un dulce que nace de la amarga,
Una broma destrozada por los años

Por su dolor y tortura, insensatos por Cristo,
Reparan mis pecados con su sangre,
Quienes sonrieron en su agonía compartiendo
La gloriosa locura de Dios.

¡Su nombre! Déjame oírlo – el símbolo
De la impagada – impagable deuda
Con los hombres a quienes yo debía la Paz de Dios,
Les distraje con un cigarrillo

Responder

Categorías

