Posteado por: ignaciopeman | agosto 30, 2016

The eleventh Hours

The eleventh hours/ Vicent Morris

Is this live? To cower and stand aside

While others fight and perish day by day?

To see my loved ones slaughtered, and to say:

Bravo!, Bravo! How nobly you have died!

Is this to love? To heed my friends no more,

But watch them perish in a foreign land

Unheeded, and to give no helping hand,

But smile and say, “How terrible is war!”

Nay, this no to love, nor this to live!

I will go forth; I hold no more aloof;

And I will give all that I have to give,

And leave the refuge of my father´s roof.

Then, if I live, no man shall say, think I,

“He lives, because he did not dare to die!”


 

The eleventh hours/ Trad. I. Pemán

¿Es esto vivir? Acobardarse y hacerse a un lado

Mientras otros luchan y fallecen cada día?

Para ver a mis seres queridos sacrificados, y decir:

Bravo!, Bravo! Qué  noblemente han muerto!

Es esto amor? No poder cuidar de mis amigos,

Sino mirar cómo fallecen en un país extranjero

Desatendidos, y sin  ninguna mano amiga,

Y sonreír y decir, “Qué terrible es la guerra!”

No, esto no es amor, ni esto es vivir!

Voy a seguir adelante; No me mantendré alejado;

Y daré todo lo que puedo ofrecer,

Y dejaré el techo  protector de mi  padre.

Y luego, si vivo,  ningún hombre dirá, creo  yo,

“Vive, porque no se atrevió a morir!”

 

Responder

Categorías

